You are here: home > Airlines > Thomson Airways > Classes > Standard Class long-haul > User reviews

Thomson Airways » Standard Class long-haul » User reviews

Class rating 7.0

7.0/10

  • Boarding 7.7
  • Seat for sitting 6.9
  • Seat for sleeping 4.6
  • Service 6.9
  • Entertainment 6.4
  • Food & drink 6.6
  • Punctuality 7.3
  • Baggage 7.9
  • Of course, your ratings vary widely for different classes. Choose one below for full details.

Rate your flight »

See what everyone's saying about Thomson Airways. Each month we're awarding prizes for the best reviews, so remember to review your flight when you return...

thecartoonman flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B787 Dreamliner (29/09/2013 17:29)

I recently took a short holiday to Menorca and on arrival at the gate at Gatwick North, was pleasantly surprised to see one of Thomson Airways new 787-8 Dreamliners waiting for us, obviously on a flight/cabin crew training short haul flight.

The flight was barely 2 hours, so cannot comment on comfort levels over, say a nine hour flight, but the seat pitch at 33/34 was good and made for a nice amount of leg room, and is more than you will find on many 'long haul' carriers in Y.

The windows are noticeably larger and the crew gave us a 'disco' light show in the cabin and with the 'dimming' windows, which was impressive, and you did have a feeling of quite a lot of space and very large overhead lockers, which easily took everyone's hand luggage.

We flew at 43,000 feet which is higher than normal and might well ensure you are above much of any bad weather below, all in all, it was a very comfortable flight and the 787 will no doubt prove to be a popular aircraft.

We were all pleased to hear on arrival that in a week's time we should be on the 787 again, and this was correct, while it was noticeable that many passengers were looking to make sure we were on the 787, at the moment it is only creating good reviews for Thomson.

In full BA configuration, it should be a pleasant way to while away 8+ hours.

Overall:

6.9/10

6.9 more

kevinEMMERSON flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B787 Dreamliner (28/08/2013 17:29)

Went to Mexico on the dreamliner, was looking forward to the larger windows as advertised.

Paid to choose our seats to make sure we got 2 seats together and next to a window and to our horror when we got on the plane row 37 does not have any windows, even though it shows them on the plan, it was like sitting in a cupboard for a 9 hour flight.

Did this review to stop others making the same mistake.

Overall:

0.0/10

0.0 more

RayBlakey flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B787 Dreamliner (26/08/2013 23:14)

Flew Glasgow to Florida on 4th August and sat in row 39 as its the only row in economy where you can sit as a two. I am 6'2" and the leg room offered for economy is brilliant. The toilet flush was a bit loud next to the seats but the missing third seat allows you to stand up where the seat would have been which for me made up for the extra noise.

The economy section is so spacious I would never pay the extra to upgrade to premium (the saving will buy your disney tickets). Food, drink and service was all acceptable but nothing special but entertainment was first class. Badly let down by Thomson in other areas of the holiday but the flight was first class. In future will go flight only. Was tempted to give Virgin a try but 34 inches in economy for someone my height is too much to turn down when you are in your seat for 9 hours. Would definitely recommend this aircraft to anyone (but not Thomson as a travel agent).

Overall:

9.3/10

9.3 more

mikaduftonstewart flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B787 Dreamliner (13/08/2013 23:57)

Flew on the Dreamliner Economy class on both the 28th July and the 11th August.
Our seats were 13a and b. The plane was called 'Alfie'

They were towards the front of the plane so easy entry/departure from the flight. Had a window in which seat 13a had control of the easy touch functions in order to dim/brighten them. The inflight entertainment was excellent, you could pause and rewind any film at any time, it truly was on demand - only issue I had was could not for the life of me get the usb to work and when I asked the staff they were unsure also.

Seat was very spacious and leg room was excellent. im 5ft 8 and big and had more than enough room to stretch out. The plane was high and there was certainly a spacious feel to the plane, I have no idea how im going to get on a 'normal plane' again.

Overall:

8.9/10

8.9 more

kaneHuxley flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (12/08/2013 15:36)

I know its a bit overdue but thought i would write a review too help others. I flew from LGW-PUJ in the Dominican Republic on a EX-FCA thomson 767 in Extra legroom row 20 C Economy club.

To be honest I was expecting the worst reading the reviews on here but I was pleasantly surprised! I checked in the night before departure on the 23rd May 2013. Check in staff were not the happiest or the friendliest but done the job quickly.

Boarding: We boarded through the 2nd door and went straight to our seat were we was extremely impressed with the legroom, even me who is 5ft 10 still had a bit of extra room left. This did help for the 8 and a half hour flight that also surprisingly went very quick.

IFE: Good choice of entertainment onboard including some new blockbuster movies.

Meals: The food outbound wasn't the best which was chicken noodles but inbound the meal was one of the best I have had (flown with Virgin, Thomas cook, BA before). Yes the only downfall is that you have to pay for drinks throughout the flight but that was too be expected. I would suggest not to be put off by the flightime like my wife was as it is quicker than what Thomson say. Outbound flight time was 8 hours 32mins and Inbound 8hours 12mins which as I have mentioned flew by! Once you take off listen too some music then food comes round then drinks then duty free then a space for you too enjoy IFE then drink service again then after quick snack before landing and before you know it your in the Caribbean!

My wife is a very nervous flyer and thanks to Thomson airways she is near enough cured! great service and not one bit of a bump throughout the flight both ways. Cabin crew and pilot were so caring and attentive with a smile on there face throughout. All in all I would give Thomson airways a 9/10 and would not hesitate to fly long haul with them especially with the new 787 Dreamliner

Overall:

9.0/10

9.0 more

diane_keating flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (08/08/2013 16:16)

My husband, myself and our two friends flew from Manchester to Sanford on the 2nd May this year. After reading the reviews I was almost at panic stations, we've usually flown with Virgin. Our aircraft was a First Choice and looked quite small with just two engines, my husband is a very very nervous flyer and pointed the engines out as we were boarding..

I have to say that it was the best flight we have had in 20 years of going to America. We were boarded in no time at all and taking off before we knew it. The flight attendants were so helpful and pleasant. The seats were far more comfortable and roomy than Virgin, in fact I can't fault anything about the flight and aircraft at all.

We were seated 3 rows from the back on the right as we boarded, we were in the window seats on the 2-3-2 configuration. We will definitely fly with Thomson again next year.

Overall:

9.4/10

9.4 more

Leekannenberg flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (22/07/2013 18:54)

We flew to Dominican Republic in row's 27 and 28 ( 2 seats behind each other) these seats were pre booked both ways. The inflight service was very efficient, even though the aircraft was a little cramped for a long haul making moving about difficult when any part of the food or drink service was taking place.

Both outbound and return flights were punctual with only a slight delay on departure for the outbound leg, but the time was made up.

Meals were more than adequate and served with a smile.For an economy service on a 9hour flight it was value for money. The seats are not very good for a good nights sleep, but comfortable with individual seat back entertainment system, blanket and pillow, head sets were provided, although we had to keep the ones provided outbound for the return trip.

Both flights very smooth dispite weather issues around the dominican republic. Our first experience with Thomson and would not hesitate to fly with them again.

Overall:

9.0/10

9.0 more

richardbond flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (27/06/2013 19:45)

Flight was a Thomson flight both ways yet had first choice plane both ways :( The flight out was uncomfortable, specifically asked for a window seat and we ended up on back row window side yet those seats had no window (yet the plane back did have windows in those seats and guess what, we were in the middle) the most uncomfortable flight I have ever had, 12 hours and no sleep.

Im 6ft 4 and even premium is no good, flight home was about to take off and there was a problem with a heater and told its a 15 minute job which then turned into a 2hr 40 min job, the heater was stuck on full heat in the baggage area and the cabin was very hot and smelling of heat fumes. We weren't allowed off the plane and yes we were given a glass of water or two but I wasn't happy. The emergency exit seats were empty yet couldn't have one. Cheers Thomson.

Overall:

4.4/10

4.4 more

marccarden flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (23/06/2013 18:12)

Went from Newcastle to Cancun via Manchester for refuelling, delayed at the start due to the incoming flight from Orlando sanford, boarding was on the Newcastle airport departure screen throughout the departures area. We were on boarding 45 mins before take off and we had good seats.

Take off is towards the East and we were heading to Manchester, so the seat belt sign stayed on. It took about 35 mins, so when the plane stopped at Manchester, no one was allowed off, plus I was allowed to make some phone calls, plus as there wasn't any food put on at Newcastle, plus they changed the cabin crew and pilots as well, so the plane took off to Cancun. They give us some forms for Mexico and they did help me to fill them in.

The flight entertainment wasn't that bad and the cabin crew did check on us, hot meal after 90 mins from take off and sandwich 90 mins before landing at Cancun. The pilot kept us informed of weather at Cancun.

Landing was fine, but getting the luggage took a while as we were in a queue for our tourist cards, after picking up our suitcase your luggage gets checked again and we were put through to the first choice rep.

Coming back the rep told us our checking desks and we had to pay 800 peso. For departure tax, check in was fine and we went to departures. Cancun isn't cheap for food, I was hot, our flight came in 20 mins early, we are called to boarding gate 1 hr before departure, but boarding happened 40 mins and everyone was on 25 minutes and the pilot announced that the plane can move 5 mins early which happened.

After take off, we were allowed to use the tvs in front of us after 25 mins, no questionnaire on the plane. I looked at the map on where you are, I did have a bit of sleep and I didn't eat the meals. The cabin crew were again great and the pilot kept us informed of the weather in Newcastle and we are to be in Newcastle around 7.15am instead of 7.50am, and the flight will land in the west instead. We landed at 7.10am, but we had to wait for the bus to take us to the terminal of Newcastle airport, I would use Thomson airways again even it was a first choice plane.

Overall:

9.4/10

9.4 more

donboyne flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (23/11/2012 11:56)

This was a flight back to the UK from Barbados after a cruise out to the Caribbean
Boarding at Grantley Adams is not well organised.

However when on board our paid for upgraded exit row seats (20f and 20g) had the extra leg room I wanted. This aircraft was still in First Choice Livery but the inside had been refitted to latest Thompson with the decent interactive entertainment system.

Service was OK, exchange rate when using dollars was nothing short of robbery, food was way overlooked. Biggest gripe was that my seat by the window had the full air conditioning blast coming in. Far too cold to lean against the side wall for sleeping in fact cold to the point dew was forming on the interior wall. When questioned was told that's the way it is. A shame really because the rest was better than passable.

Overall:

7.0/10

7.0 more

ChrisRyan flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v1 (19/07/2012 22:00)

Disapointing flight back today despite purchasing extra legroom seats as the seats were certainly not as wide as the flight out. The seats on this aircraft are set out 2-4-2 and the banks of 2 where we sat (17a&b) were not comfortable at all.

I know it's only a four hour flight but four hours is a long time to be sat uncomfortably, poor show Thomson. The flight out with the 3&3 set up were fantastic and no problem whatsoever, I guess they are just cramming people in on the bigger planes which is a shame and not what customers deserve.

Overall:

6.4/10

6.4 more

peterjones23 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v1 (13/07/2012 15:13)

Boarding at Gatwick was promt the seats were comfortable and the service was good on both directions. The meals were o.k. but one expects that. The seatback entertainment was poor, I recomend useing your own pad. I think the new Dreamliner will solve all issues.

Overall:

5.9/10

5.9 more

essjay35 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul (08/06/2012 12:04)

Our flight to Mexico with Thomson got off to a bad start.

We had booked one of Thomson’s Premier hotels which allows extra hand luggage weight – 7kg, and so packed accordingly. We used the night-before service at Gatwick and were “greeted” by a very unpleasant, sullen, unfriendly member of staff at check-in who insisted we were only entitled to 5kg. I pointed out that we had booked a Premier hotel and so were entitled to an extra 2kg, but she insisted that she had just been told that it was now only 5kg and that we had to repack our hand luggage.

I felt that it couldn’t possibly be right and have since taken it up with Thomson’s Customer Services, who confirmed that our hand luggage should have been 7kg and have apologised to me.

We had a two hour flight delay, which was disappointing as the flight itself was eleven hours long. We decided to book extra legroom seats (or extra space as they now like to call them!) On our outgoing flight we had seats 20F and G. These were emergency exit seats and were great, loads of legroom, and perfectly comfortable, on our return journey we had seats 14A and B, not so good, by the toilet bulkhead, but still comfortable enough.

We upgraded our flight entertainment (£5 each), which offers extra films and a pause/rewind/fast forward facility. On the return journey the flight entertainment information leaflet was showing a new selection of films, one of which I was particularly keen to see, so we upgraded again.

However, a mistake had been made and the films showing were actually the same as on the outgoing flight, so we asked for a refund. There was also a problem with the in-flight entertainment and it was not working for quite a long period. We were not too worried about in-flight entertainment coming home, as it was a night flight, so a lot of time spent sleeping.

The food on the plane was fine – in-flight meals are never going to be fantastic are they? I preferred the meal on the return journey, a chicken tikka which I thought was quite tasty.

We did notice on the return flight that passengers in the premium class cabin were coming through to use the toilets in economy, so I assume there was a problem with the toilets in their part of the plane.

All in all we found the flight to be comfortable, the plane did seem a little cold and we did use the blankets provided. We flew long haul with BA, Premium Economy, a couple of years ago and I have to say I found this flight more pleasant. We found the cabin crew all to be very friendly and helpful (what a pity the same can’t be said of the check-in experience).

Both of us suffered really bad jetlag on our return – something we have never experienced before! We have previously flown long-haul with Virgin and BA and have been perfectly fine, no jetlag at all.

I’m interested to see that next year Thomson will be flying the new Dreamliner to Mexico, one of the benefits of this plane, they say, will be a reduction in the effects of jetlag.

Overall:

6.1/10

6.1 more

laciaboots flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (10/05/2012 20:19)

Out bound from Newcastle to Florida 9 hours only came around twice with drinks trolly, I get 2 rounds on a 4 hour flight, bearing in mind you are supposed to drink loads of non alchoholic drinks on long haul for dvt.

Inbound was an evening flight only 1 round of drinks, I rang for service I was told to come to the back of the plane to get served when I got there all the staff were sitting reading magazines.

I was told on a night flight they only come around once as people are sleeping , that is fair enough but should they not get off their a*** and actually serve you instead of passenger having to go back and forwards when staff do not seem to be bothered. But that still does not explain why they only come around twice on a daylight journey.

It is disgraceful and not acceptable in either journey, after I got drinks they shouted over tannoy anyone wanting drinks please come to the back of the plane, ha that really helped people sleep

Overall:

4.0/10

4.0 more

helenbeer flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (07/05/2012 14:43)

Outward bound flight very good.

Return journey commenced with cabin crew 'ordering' everyone to sit down quickly or we would be LATE ! maybe they should have boarded us on time not 20 mins before we should be taking off.

The cabin crew were abrupt and much less helpful than on the outbound flight.
Very quickly into the flight a pilot call came for Nurses and Doctors, eventually we had to make an emergency landing in Bermuda for the sick person to be med-evacuated from the plane (hope hes ok).

We had a long (3 hour) wait on the runway, there was no availability/offer of any refreshments etc so this was quite unconfortable.

I know its not Thomsons fault when this happens, but do think they need to think about how they deal with other passengers in this kind of situation (we had a diabetic chap near us who himself would have been ill due to not eating had his partner not insisted some sustinance was got for him).

Overall:

5.9/10

5.9 more

metro122f flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (12/03/2012 00:21)

Flights from Newcastle to Barbados (in G-DBLA) and return (in G-PJLO) were very comfortable.

In 2-3-2 formation there is plenty of width and seat pitch. Both aircraft are ex First Choice and remain in their livery. The seats are large and comfortable and a pleasure to fly in, the interior is clean and pleasant, despite their age.

Food was good in parts and the service was excellent, especially on the outbound flight, where the staff appeared happy throughout the flight.

Nothing wrong with the return crew, but it was an overnight flight.

Overall:

8.9/10

8.9 more

speedbird1 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul (08/01/2012 20:36)

the service was good tv's were small and earphone slot wold'nt work properly this is really annoying on a 5 1/2 hour flight! :l

Overall:

5.5/10

5.5 more

stidworthycarole flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul (07/12/2011 15:32)

Flying to Egypt with Thomson airways and back, found the flight cramped to say the least. The aircraft are to small for a five and a half to six hour duration, also meals have been discontinued, the menu to buy on board is nothing but junk food not enough variety, and expensive. On our return journey drinks were only served once during a six hour flight!

Overall:

5.7/10

5.7 more

elaineblondabe flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (29/11/2011 10:49)

We went to Cyprus on this plane. The seats were so comfortable and the legroom was amazing my husband is 6 ft 4 and he had plenty of legroom.

We have 2 holidays a year and look forward to the flight, when we boarded this plane I was shocked how big it was and that each seat had a tv screen to watch telly, play games, which passed the time away, even the children were happy none saying i'm bored.

We are booking again to go to Cyprus next July. I'm taking my mother and father in law. I hope they put this plane on as it will make travelling a comfortable experience and I love flying and planes any kind, so could you put the 767 300 on please.

Overall:

10.0/10

10.0 more

arnieg2 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul (21/11/2011 16:17)

Overall:

5.6/10

5.6 more

deadmemories flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (11/09/2011 16:30)

Manchester - Sanford 25th August 2011

Out-bound

TOM 168 (767-300ER)v2 (with winglets) (row 19)

Check in was quick and easy, the pre booked seats came up straight away without any problems, very polite. the plane was an ex first choice livery, the legroom was perfect and also the personal in flight entertainment was a real bonus.

Boarding was easy even though we were last to board, the pre booked seats were excellent and the row behind was the extra legroom seats, therefore nobody behind was kicking and jolting your chair. However, if sitting near the window on this row, beware it can become very cold as is located next to the emergancy exit door near the wing. Take off was smooth.

Soon after take off the cabin crew ask if you wish to upgrade your inflight entertainment for £5, for this you recieve 3 extra movies and the ability to play/pause/fast forward, i did not bother witht the upgrade as i was happy with what is available, the in flight games passed the time. Headphones were free outbound. My radio did not work on my outbound flight, however, my neighbour was obliged to me let me use theirs. Around 2 hours into the flight, the hot meal was served, a choice of steak stew or bbq chicken, both served with a potato salad and a key lime pie desert. The meal was okay nothing spectacular. In my opinion the meal was served too early.

The seats were comfy enought to sit however, I found it impossible to sleep, it was far too awkward. Around an hour and a half, the second meal was served, it was a small cheese and pickle sandwhich, i found this extremly dry and bland, it was very small, frankly i would not have been bothered if i was served this or not, very disapointing. The flight was very bumpy, with a lot of turbulance, however, it was the same time as hurricane irene was about to hit the usa coast. The landing into Sanford was very bumpy as we seemed to hit the runway and bounced back up and down again, the pilot apologised and blamed 'unexpected wind'. The flight took off and landed on time and the crew were polite and helpful.

Inbound - (without winglets)

Check in was very slow at Sanford, however, Thomson staff were not checking us in, it was sanfords own staff. We were offered premium upgrades for £75pp, we refused as we did not find it nessicery. Looking at the plane from inside the airport, it looked very tacky and it had no winglets, i was very cautious about the interior was going to like.

We boarded early and found out that the flight would only take 7 hours 40mins back to manchester. My doubts were quenched when we boarded, i found the interior better than the outbound journey. We were given a free Daily Mail when we boarded the plane which i thought was a nice touch. We departed ten minutes early and once again take off was smooth.

On the out bound journey the headphone packet said 'take me on holiday with you and use me again on the reurn flight' however, at the end of the outbound flight, the headphones were collected by cabin crew. On the return flight the cabin crew announced that headphones would be £2.50pp which was not very pleasing, once everybody explained the situation the cabin crew gave out headphones for free. My full in flight entertainment was working and i found the radio entertaining and llistened to it for most of the journey.

Two hours into the flight our hot meal was served which was a choice of cheese and spinarch pasta or grilled chicken, each served with a very appatising looking salad and a very sickly chocolate cake, i chose the pasta, i found it very bland and could only eat a small amount, The meal was very disapointing. After the meal the pilot annouced he was going to turn the cabin lights off for people to rest, however, the flight was very bumpy as we flew over the atlantic and he kept turning the cabin lights on as the seat belt sign kept going on and the cabin crew needed to check the belts were on and had to wake people up to see if they had their belts on, as soon as the crew finished the seat belt sign was removed and once again the cabin lights were turned back off, however, within a couple a minutes, the process was repeated, it occured around 4-5 times, it was very difficult for people to rest. At this time hurricane katia was turning in the atlantic.

Around a hour and a half before landing, our second meal was served which consisted of a croissant and a cherry youghurt. bearing in mind it was around half 4 - 5 olock in the morning, it was very unnessicrery and many tired passenged refused it. Once a again it was very bland and tasteless. We landed very smoothly compared to the arrival in Sanford, we were half an hour early than arrival time.

Overall I think Thomson airways is a very good long haul flight with the legroom and personal in flight entertainment and also the little gestures such as the newspaper. However the in flight food was very disapointing, but punctuality and service is top notch and i would definatly recomend this company to anyone travelling long haul.

Overall:

7.4/10

7.4 more

gazman64 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (25/07/2011 20:33)

Overall:

8.1/10

8.1 more

samuelmorris flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (19/05/2011 00:34)

Flights were TOM138 MAN-SFB 18-Apr-11 and TOM159 SFB-MAN 03-May-11.

Flight was planned to be the seatplan selected (283-seat v3 767) on the outbound flight, and the 258-seat v2 on the return journey.

At check-in we were informed that due to a fault with the allocated aircraft we were allocated a small plane and thus had to make a fuel stop in Maine, additionally that the flight would be delayed by 1 hour.

Realising that the only aircraft in the Thomson fleet smaller than the 767 are not long-haul, I knew we were in for an uncomfortable flight. Upon reaching the gate my suspicions were confirmed - the aircraft outside was G-BYAY, a short-haul 757-200.

Additionally, we were told for 'safety paperwork' reasons (ETOPS perhaps?) we'd have to wait longer at the gate. The flight ultimately set of 2h30 late, and we would much rather have spent the extra hour and a half in the departure lounge.

Including a 53 minute stop in Bangor, ME, the total flight time to Sanford was 10h23. A long time for what could only be 28" seat pitch. However, despite the cramped conditions for a long flight, the flight crew were friendly, and the in-flight meals good (for me at least. For my friend the vegan main was fine, but seemingly they forgot to pack any vegan supplementary snacks)

Return flight was aboard the correct aircraft, G-OOBK, and on-time, and quite comfortable. I certainly appreciated the cabin lights being dimmed and being surprisingly undisturbed by duty free offers as I usually am on night flights.

No complaints about the return flight whatsoever, as despite having been on 30 flights in the last 12 years, this was my first with seatback IFE!

However, although not directly related to the intended aircraft, the inadequacy of a maximum capacity 757 for a 10 hour flight, plus the unforecast delay at the gate, in addition to the far worse situation for those who booked premium class and didn't get it, or the 48 people who had to fly out the following day due to the smaller capacity, mean I have to downrate the class for our trip.

Lastly a heads up for the IFE - the headsets provided are single-jack earphones with an adapter, meaning you can take this off and use it with your own headphones.

Overall:

7.5/10

7.5 more

phicounty flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (07/03/2011 19:36)

Whilst the flights were punctual - outbound and inbound that is the only positive aspect of this flight.
This must have been the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE FLIGHT I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED.

The flight was to/from Manchester - Sharm El Sheik and took 6+ hours in the most cramped conditions.

There was no option to upgrade to 'more comfortable seating' as apart from extremely limited Exit Seats there was no Premium Economy seating available on the flight as presumably they were more interested in CRAMMING AS MANY PEOPLE AS POSSIBLE INTO THE AVAILABLE SPACE regardless of PASSENGER COMFORT.

Overall:

5.9/10

5.9 more

herrybirch flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (06/03/2011 09:40)

19/04/11 going to Costa Rica and very looking forward to the flight as told on the website we would be going on 767-300ER 283 seats where as we are going on the 258 seat Ex-FCA version. And also heard about £5 in flight tv upgrade so sure the 11hours will fly by, literally!

Overall:

0.0/10

0.0 more

IslandHopper flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul (26/02/2011 12:05)

I have recently booked and paid in full Thomson for a Premier A la Carte Holiday destination, this Thomson package was advertised with free Seat selection included in the package, however when I attempted to book my seats I was requested to pay an additional £50.00 to select a standard seat, I attempted to call Thomson on the premium rate telephone number and was left listening to music at 10p per minute with no indication of how long in a queue, This is the 2nd time this has happened when booking with Thomson’s premier selection.

Overall:

7.0/10

7.0 more

ArwynDavies flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (13/01/2011 14:50)

It seems that Thomson have studied the needs of passengers on long haul flights, and have given economy passengers what is most important , ie more leg room. Food & Drink on our flight was really good, as well as top draw flight attendance. Top Marks to them. If other brand Airlines want to improve then study Thomson ,perhaps they could learn from them. WELL DONE THOMSON keep on flying

Overall:

9.6/10

9.6 more

ArwynDavies flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (13/01/2011 14:48)

It seems that Thomson have studied the needs of passengers on long haul flights, and have given economy passengers what is most important , ie more leg room. Food & Drink on our flight was really good, as well as top draw flight attendance. Top Marks to them. If other brand Airlines want to improve then study Thomson ,perhaps they could learn from them. WELL DONE THOMSON keep on flying

Overall:

9.6/10

9.6 more

Chiefchester flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (23/10/2010 09:03)

Flight Punta Cana- Gatwick. Aircraft company First Choice. Service of Cabin crew are still at a high level. Highly qualified pilots. Extensive weather front was expertly passed and practically no inconvenience. Overall very good impression of the flight spoiled a little- no folding seat back of 19 rows, to sleep without unfolding back generally failed, but it was a night flight. In addition, the plane delayed for almost an hour to land. It is also difficult to attribute to the advantages. Otherwise, all is well- recommend.

Overall:

8.3/10

8.3 more

Chiefchester flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (23/10/2010 08:23)

Flight Gatwick- Punta Cana. Aircraft company First Choice. High service level. Friendly and sociable staff. Every minute from several hours of our flight in the cabin was someone from the cabin-crew ( fly different companies, so have something to compare). Overall very positive impression spoiled a little not adapted for sleeping chairs and used passenger seats.

Overall:

9.1/10

9.1 more

charleyfish flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (28/06/2010 21:37)

Flew with First choice/Thomson from Gatwick to Taba and vice versa. For a flight of over 5 1/2 hours they really should lay on a more spacious plane. The seats were tiny and so cramped, I thought I was being shoehorned in!! The seats are very narrow; I saw lots of passengers (especially the larger/taller ones) having to rise the dividing arms for more room. However these armrests don't go up 90 degrees, but to just about an 85 degree angle so they stick into the top of your shoulder causing more discomfort. Reclining was a nightmare, as if you are watching the tv in the seat back in front, and that person in front reclines their seat, you end up with the screen about 8 inches away from your face.

The depth of the seat was odd too, I have longish legs, and found that I wasn't quite sitting fully on the seat; I kept having to push myself back in the seat a few times. The FAs were a nuisance in pushing the duty free stuff. The trolley was up and down the aisles so often that it seemed like a tube station timetable, ie "there'll be another one along in a minute"

Food was mediocre, and because of the poor organisation of the FAs; many meals were long finished (or left) before the tea/coffee was brought around. I for one like a drink with my meal, not 15/20 minutes after!

Apart from this apology for a meal, other food/drinks had to be bought; at a typical airline overprice! The customer satisfaction surveys they bring around are not worth bothering with. "Win £1500 off your next holiday" they shout!

But to be in with even a smidgeon of a chance, you have to give them absolutely the highest praise that is on a par with God; PLUS... ALL the details have to be filled in, right down to what toilet paper brand you use (that last bit I made up, but it's not far from the truth) Cue much junk mail/ spam/ unwanted cold calls from the companies involved. I didn't bother, being a private person I like to keep my details the same.

Unenjoyable trip 1 out of 10. The 1 for speedy check in and boarding only.

Overall:

4.6/10

4.6 more

kamdriver flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (10/05/2010 13:58)

Overall:

7.0/10

7.0 more

kamdriver flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (10/05/2010 13:57)

Overall:

7.0/10

7.0 more

stone0701 flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (258 seats) v2 (29/03/2010 02:29)

Overall:

8.1/10

8.1 more

ValerieDavies flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (19/02/2010 23:10)

Overall:

3.0/10

3.0 more

highflyerJake flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (25/12/2009 19:59)

Manchester - Luxor - Manchester in the middle of the summer season. Outbound seating was 3-4-3 which made things a little cramped onboard the 767-300ER. FA helpful and friendly. Return seatng was 2-3-2 on a 767-300ER. FAs not to be seen for nearly 4 hours out of the 5hr 45min trip.

Overall:

7.1/10

7.1 more

alexblfc flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (28/10/2009 14:38)

Overall:

6.8/10

6.8 more

UflyRight flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-300ER (283 seats) v3 (13/09/2009 16:01)

This was the best flight I have ever had. The crew were great, the entertainment was perfect, the food and sevice was next to none. There was not a thing wrong with the flight. The crew evern handled a drunk and disorderly passenger well. The ex-First Choice pilots and ex-Thomsonfly crew reacted quickly and stopped the problem in its tracks. I could not fault them at all.

Overall:

9.6/10

9.6 more

busterbill flew Thomson Airways Standard Class long-haul, on a B767-200ER (21/03/2009 07:52)

I have flown Thomsom Airways Premier Class on ex First Choice 767 planes 4 times now 5 & 6 coming up.

I found the 36" seat pitch very good, the food served was some of the best airline food I have eaten, and how much nicer is it to have your drinks in a glass. 9" seat back TV very good with stop and start facality.

In all in my book worth the extra money but having said that Star class with 33" pitch is also very good. Thomson going a long way to improving the charter image.

Overall:

9.5/10

9.5 more

You are here: home > Airlines > Thomson Airways > Classes > Standard Class long-haul > User reviews